(PRE-ALPHA) dot big bang – a free voxel editor w/ game creation (PLUS ME-MADE CREATIONS)

Today I am going to talk about dot big bang, a voxel editor! It is currently in pre-alpha. (This article is assuming that you know what voxels are; 3D pixels.)

dot big bang is a voxel editor that is in pre-alpha (as said before) that WILL have game creation/making features! I did not know that when I signed up but did after I saw this video:

 

I plan on using this as a visualization of some of my creature ideas! And, IF dot big bang does have multi-platform support (and if this turns out to be serious like Unity or Unreal but with voxels) then I would make games on it (most likely free, just so I can get something out there). Now, here are the ones I’ve made so far (note I just joined like 25 minutes ago from publishing and writing):

Beefulent (walking bees that form herds)
https://dotbigbang.com/voxelobjectviewer/64631720037643e381798ea099945bd4/Beefulent

Barlin (creatures that mainly be still but can move through ‘flopping’)
https://dotbigbang.com/voxelobjectviewer/eed9005ca34d4d6c85541268a2dde113/Barlin

Jume (creatures that love jumping)
https://dotbigbang.com/voxelobjectviewer/9439b548026e43608da4be7452893a68/Jume

 

 

So, this is the beginning of my voxel art! Maybe I’ll do some 3d-ized version of the guys from Worldly Encounters! I still have MORE articles to write about things about the Vortech Uniomniverse; geez, I haven’t even posted about the boardgame I am working (okay, I started today in the afternoon (EST), but STILL)! That one is based on an idea that Patrick (my brother) came up with (about ghost-like creatures)..!

Well, there are your spoilers 😉

 

BYE! And until next time, viewers!

2 comments on “(PRE-ALPHA) dot big bang – a free voxel editor w/ game creation (PLUS ME-MADE CREATIONS)

  1. Hey!

    Just wanted to come back and comment to let you know that we launched our game world editor a couple of weeks ago and we now have a dev blog that we’re updating: dotbigbang.com/devblog 🙂

    Thanks for talking about the project!

    bobbyd

    • Welcome man! Really like the editor – good way to plan-out voxel models for future games! I personally would really like it if you could add file download – like one that can be exported into 3d modelers like Blender and Mudbox. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

